

South Carolina DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE CONSUMER PROTECTION DIVISION

123 Ballard Court, West Columbia, SC 29172

Hugh E. Weathers, Commissioner

SERVICEPERSONS OF COMMERCIAL WEIGHING AND MEASURING DEVICES APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION

ALL SERVICEPERSON REGISTRATIONS WILL EXPIRE EACH YEAR ON AUGUST 31.

The state of South Carolina requires proof of calibration from a state standards laboratory to be submitted with application along with a \$25.00 Registration Fee. The state of South Carolina requires test equipment to be calibrated every two years.

Under Section 39-9-65 ET SEQ of the South Carolina Code of Laws, the South Carolina Department of Agriculture registers servicepersons of commercial weighing and measuring devices. A Registered Serviceperson has the authority to remove an official rejection tag or mark placed on a weighing or measuring device by the authority of the Commissioner; place in service, until such time as an official examination can be made, a weighing or measuring device that has been officially rejected; and place in service, until such time as an official examination can be made, a new or used weighing or measuring device. The Registered Serviceperson is responsible for installing, repairing, and adjusting devices such that the devices are adjusted as closely as practicable to zero error and that the device meets all the specifications, tolerances, and other technical requirements in National Institute of Standards and Technology Handbook 44.

Applicant's Name	Name of Business
Business Mailing Address	
Phone Number	Email Address

Type(s) of commercial weighing or measuring devices that you will be installing and/or repairing

Yes No Do you have available sufficient standards and equipment to adequately test in accordance with the notes section of the applicable code in NIST Handbook 44, "Specifications, Tolerances, and Other Technical Requirements for Weighing and Measuring Devices:, those devices that you intend to install and/or repair?

Yes No Are you familiar with the specifications, tolerances and other technical requirements in NIST Handbook 44 for those commercial weighing and measuring devices that you intend to install and/or repair?

List any other state(s) in which you are registered as a repairperson of weighing and measuring devices.

I hereby certify that the information furnished on this form is true and correct and that I am fully qualified to install, service, repair, or recondition whatever devices for which competence is being registered. All installations and/or repairs that I perform will be done in accordance with the South Carolina Weights and measures Law (Section 39-9-10 etc.) and the latest edition of NIST Handbook 44, "Specifications, Tolerances, and Other Technical Requirements for Weighing and Measuring Devices".

Signature of Serviceperson

RETURN APPLICATION, CALIBRATION CERTIFICATE, AND \$25.00 CHECK TO:

South Carolina Department of Agriculture Attn: Consumer Services 123 Ballard Court • West Columbia, SC 29172

Signature of Company Owner/Manager