

South Carolina DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

CONSUMER PROTECTION DIVISION 123 Ballard Court, West Columbia, SC 29172

Hugh E. Weathers, Commissioner

SEED LICENSE APPLICATION

Pursuant to S.C. Code of Laws Section 46-21-45 C anyone wishing to sell seed in the state must obtain a seed license based on the amount of gross sales. The license must be renewed yearly.

Company Name	 Contact Name
Street Address	 Mailing Address
City, State, ZIP	City, State, ZIP
County	

New Business: Anticipated gross sales from the sale of seed at location listed for upcoming calendar year.

Existing Business: Actual gross receipts from the sale of seed for the previous license year at location listed. (Example: if renewing in 2020, use 2019 actual sales.)

Sale of all seed requires a license based on the amount of gross sales, as follows:

\$10,000.01 or more	Class A	\$500
\$5,000.01 to \$10,000.00	Class B	\$200
\$2,500.01 to \$5,000.00	Class C	\$100
\$2,500.00 or less	Class D	\$50

Using listed licensing cost from the table, the applicant is subject to the payment of a license fee in the amount of

_____, based on the gross sales of \$ _

New businesses can anticipate gross sales and existing business need to submit paperwork for gross sales of seed. South Carolina-based applicants who sell hemp seed in South Carolina must be permitted by SCDA as a Hemp Farmer or Hemp Handler and can only sell hemp seed to permitted Hemp Farmers or Hemp Handlers. Visit agriculture.sc.gov/ hemp or call 803-734-8339 for information on hemp permits.

Do you intend to sell or are you currently selling hemp seed in South Carolina?

Yes No

If yes, have you obtained a South Carolina Hemp Permit (Farmer or Handler)?

• Yes Permit type and ID#:

N/A (only applies to out-of-state applicants)

The undersigned applicant states that he/she is authorized to sign this application and is in a position to know the gross dollar volume of seed license business done by the applicant during the specified time frame. Failure to provide the correct information will result in a penalty pursuant to S.C. Code of Laws Section 46-21-445.

Applicant/Authorized Agent Signature		Date	
Return this form along with a check for the amount due to: South Carolina Department of Agriculture		FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY	FUND NO. 3035.3
Seed License Application 123 Ballard Court, West Columbia, SC 29172		Check # Check Amount	
3/25/20	1		CPD Form #205