South Carolina

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Hugh E. Weathers, Commissioner

HEMP HANDLER PERMIT APPLICATION GUIDELINES

« The South Carolina Department of Agriculture (SCDA) is
administering the South Carolina Hemp Farming Program as
authorized by SC Code Ann. § 46-55-10 et seq.

« Anyone handling hemp in the State of South Carolina must
successfully complete the full application process with the
SCDA and be issued a Hemp Handler Permit prior to handling
and or taking possession of any in-program harvested hemp
materials (biomass) or any other sort of hemp plant material.
Farmers who are growing hemp must apply for a Hemp
Farming Permit. Handlers or service providers (storage
facilities, couriers, etc.) who are not growing, or processing
must complete the Hemp Handler Permit Application.
Processors must apply for a Hemp Processor Permit.

- A Handler Permit will not allow the Permit Holder to

cultivate, farm, or process. If you wish to grow hemp you will

need to obtain a separate Hemp Farmer Permit. If you wish

to process hemp material, you will need to obtain a separate

Hemp Processor Permit. If you possess a Hemp Farming
Permit or a Hemp Processor Permit, you do not need a Hemp

Handler Permit because the two permits allow you to handle
hemp. You only need to obtain a Hemp Handler Permit if you

are handling, but not processing.

« Failure to comply with state regulation may result in
appropriate action, including expulsion from the program and
the destruction of hemp materials. Handlers only purchase
hemp from South Carolina Permit Holders or individuals
licensed or permitted by another State or Indian Tribe.

Changes for 2020 Season:

» Federal law now requires that all states have a testing
protocol to measure delta-9 THC post-decarboxylation -
this means total THC must be not more than 0.3 percent.

» Federal law will no longer allow SC to have a remediation
safeguard. Now hemp total THC must test at or below
0.3 percent (after accounting for the measurement of
uncertainty, which is likely less than a 0.099% variance) or
be subject to destruction.

» In accordance with federal law, cultivating, handling,
or processing hemp with a total THC level greater than
0.5% will constitute a “negligent violation” of the Hemp
Farming Program. If a Permitted Handler has three
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negligent violations in 5 years, he or she will face permit
suspension for five years.

+ Key Information:

» Background checks are required for all applicants.

» Applicant must be an individual. SCDA does not issue
Handler Permits to business entities.

» A Handler Permit will not be issued to Retail Operation
(including online sales) or Retail Stores.

» This Hemp Handler Permit Application Packet is designed
to provide sufficient instructions for completion by any
individual who would be prepared to participate in the
Hemp Farming Program. The application packets include a
broad understanding of the program, but applicants should
read the South Carolina Hemp Farming Act S.C. Code
Ann. § 46-55-10 et seq. (which may be accessed here:
scstatehouse.gov/code/t46¢055.php), and the USDA Interim
Final Rule (which sets forth the national hemp regulatory
scheme, and which may be accessed here: ams.usda.gov/sites/
default/files/media/AMS_SC_19_0042_IR.pdf)

» Please make sure to fully review all application materials
and regulations prior to contacting hemp staff with
questions. SCDA is not in a position to offer direct
consultation on completing a permit application or to
educate individuals about the production of hemp.

» All costs associated with the Hemp Farming Program are
the responsibility of the permit holder, including both
profits and loss. There are no sources of funding from
SCDA to cover any aspect of the Hemp Farming Program.
Potential applicants should understand that at the present
time it is possible that they may suffer a loss on their
hemp operation. Limited production knowledge combined
with an uncertain federal regulatory environment, recent
changes to the sampling and testing protocol as required
by the USDA that will make compliance more difficult and
unstable pricing creates significant risk for the participant.
The focus of this program is the collection of research data
and learning through experience.

- Application Deadline: New Handler Permit Applications will now be

accepted year-round. Permits issued will be subject to the annual
renewal requirements which will be one year from date issued.
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BACKGROUND CHECK

As part of the application process per state law, you must
complete a federal and state background check.

Please be advised that no person who has been convicted
of a felony relating to a controlled substance under state
or federal law during a ten-year period from the date of his
conviction shall be eligible to obtain a license to cultivate,
handle, or process hemp.

All appointments must be made online.

To conduct your federal and state background check, please
follow the following steps to set up an appointment:

1. Visit [dentogo (the state’s third-party background check
vendor) ONLINE at identogo.com/locations/south-carolina

2. Scroll down and select “Digital Fingerprinting”

3. Under “For New Appointments” select “Schedule a New
Appointment”.

4. On the dropdown list, select “SC920126Z - Dept. of
Agriculture - Industrial Hemp” then select “Go™.

5. Enter your Zip Code or Choose the region you are in.

6. Selection the location and day. Please note we
recommend selecting one of ldentogo’s major locations
for your background check to speed up the process.
Those locations are Columbia, Greenville, Charleston,
Florence, Myrtle Beach, and Rock Hill. These locations
are open Monday-Friday.

7. Select a time slot
8. Enter Applicant Information
9. Select Send Information

Once the background check is conducted, the results will
electronically be sent to SCDA from the FBI and SLED, and we
will review them. You do not need to submit the results to SCDA.

NONCRIMINAL JUSTICE APPLICANT’S PRIVACY RIGHTS

As an applicant who is the subject of a national fingerprint-
based criminal history record check for a noncriminal justice
purpose (such as an application for a job or license, an
immigration or naturalization matter, security clearance, or
adoption), you have certain rights which are discussed below.

« You must be provided written notification' that your
fingerprints will be used to check the criminal history
records of the FBI.

« If you have a criminal history record, the officials making a
determination of your suitability for the job, license, or other
benefit must provide you the opportunity to complete or
challenge the accuracy of the information in the record.

+ The officials must advise you that the procedures for
obtaining a change, correction, or updating of your
criminal history record are set forth at Title 28, Code of
Federal Regulations (CFR), Section 16.34.

« If you have a criminal history record, you should be
afforded a reasonable amount of time to correct or
complete the record (or decline to do so) before the
officials deny you the job, license, or other benefit based
on information in the criminal history record.?

You have the right to expect that officials receiving the
results of the criminal history record check will use it only
for authorized purposes and will not retain or disseminate it
in violation of federal statute, regulation or executive order,
or rule, procedure or standard established by the National
Crime Prevention and Privacy Compact Council.®

If agency policy permits, the officials may provide you with
a copy of your FBI criminal history record for review and
possible challenge. If agency policy does not permit it to
provide you a copy of the record, you may obtain a copy of
the record by submitting fingerprints and a fee to the FBI.
Information regarding this process may be obtained at

fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/background-checks.

If you decide to challenge the accuracy or completeness

of your FBI criminal history record, you should send your
challenge to the agency that contributed the questioned
information to the FBI. Alternatively, you may send your
challenge directly to the FBI. The FBI will then forward your
challenge to the agency that contributed the questioned
information and request the agency to verify or correct the
challenged entry. Upon receipt of an official communication
from that agency, the FBI will make any necessary changes/
corrections to your record in accordance with the information
supplied by that agency. (See 28 CFR 16.30 through 16.34.)

! Written notification includes electronic notification, but excludes oral notification.

2See 28 CFR 50.12(b).

¥See 5 U.S.C. 552a(b); 28 U.S.C. 534(b); 42 U.S.C. 14616, Article IV(c); 28 CFR 20.21(c), 20.33(d) and 906.2(d).

2 2020 South Carolina Hemp Handler Permit Application

CPD Form #903


http://fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/background-checks
http://identogo.com/locations/south-carolina

South Carolina
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Hugh E. Weathers, Commissioner

2020 HEMP HANDLER PERMIT APPLICATION

Please note that SCDA may only issue Handler Permit to
individuals. The applicant Information below is information
about the person applying for the Handler License.

*Note you cannot cultivate, farm, process, or have clones,
possess living (rooted) plant material under this license.
Application Fee: $100.00 Per Location (Non-Refundable)

APPLICANT INFORMATION

Applicant must be an individual. SCDA does not issue handling permits to business entities.

Applicant Name (First, Middle, Last)

Primary Residential Address

City State ZIP
County
Primary Mailing Address
City State ZIP
Phone Number Email
FIRM INFORMATION
Firm Name
Firm Address
City State ZIP
County
Applicant’s Job Title with Firm
Phone Number Email
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HANDLER INFORMATION

Check the one(s) that apply to you.

[J] WAREHOUSE/STORAGE/DRYING FACILITY | $1,000.00 PERMIT FEE PER LOCATION
The following additional information must be submitted with your completed application:
+ Business Plan (include days and hours of operation)

« Background Check - identogo.com/locations/south-carolina

+ Signed affidavit stating that no pesticides are used at the facility
+ Square Footage of facility

+ Dealer/Handler License - If you take ownership of product

« Weighmaster License - If you purchase product by weight

+ Lease Agreement if applicable

*Note you cannot cultivate, farm, process, store or possess have living (rooted) plant material under this Handler Permit.

[0 TRANSPORTER | $500.00 PERMIT FEE
The following additional information must be submitted with your completed application:
+ Business Plan (include days and hours of operation)
+ Background Check - identogo.com/locations/south-carolina
« List of Drivers ($10.00 fee per driver for Hemp Handler Transporter ID Card)
» Full Name
» Date of Birth
» Driver’s License #

+ Copy of Bill of Lading that will be used to transport

[J] LABORATORY | $500.00 PERMIT FEE

The following additional information must be submitted with your completed application:
+ Business Plan (include days and hours of operation)

+ Copy of DEA Registration - deadiversion.usdoj.gov

« Copy of Test Standards and Methods

« Copy of ISO 17025 Accreditation

+ If not ISO Accredited, please provide copy of other accreditation(s).
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[0 SEED DEALER/SUPPLIER | $500.00 PERMIT FEE

Note you will also need a South Carolina Seed License: kellysolutions.com/sc/seed/NewApplication/applynow.asp

Please complete the following:

Do you produce your own seed? D Yes D No

Varieties of seeds you sell

Sex, purity, and germination percentages

Origin of Seed

South Carolina Seed License Number

[0 OTHER | $500.00 PERMIT FEE

Provide detailed description below. Examples: Broker, Research and Development, Sale Representative, etc.

The following additional information must be submitted with your completed application:
+ Business Plan (include days and hours of operation)

« Background Check - identogo.com/locations/south-carolina

« List of businesses and/or farmers you are affiliated with, if any.

By signing this Application, the Applicant certifies that the information contained is truthful and accurate. The Applicant also
acknowledges receipt of the “Hemp Handlers Guidelines” and agrees to abide by all requirements contacted in the document.

Signature Date

Print Name

Complete all parts of the Application and submit South Carolina Department of Agriculture
this Application by mail or hand delivery to: Hemp Program

123 Ballard Court
West Columbia, SC 29172
Attention: Hemp Program Coordinator
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