South Carolina

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
CONSUMER PROTECTION DIVISION | HEMP FARMING PROGRAM

Hugh E. Weathers, Commissioner

HEMP PROCESSOR PERMIT APPLICATION GUIDELINES

« The South Carolina Department of Agriculture (SCDA) is
administering the South Carolina Hemp Farming Program
as authorized by SC Code Ann. § 46-55-10 et seq.

+ Anyone processing hemp in the State of South Carolina
must successfully complete the full application process
with the SCDA and be issued a Hemp Processing Permit
prior to processing and prior to taking possession of any
in-program harvested hemp materials (biomass) or any
other sort of hemp plant material. Processors who are
growing hemp must apply for a Hemp Farming Permit.
Handlers or service providers (storage facilities, couriers,
etc.) who are not growing, or processing must complete
the Hemp Handler Permit Application.

+ A Processor Permit will not allow the Permit Holder to
cultivate, farm, or take ownership of living clones or any
other type of living plant material. If you wish to cultivate
or take ownership of living clones or any other type of
living (rooted) plant material, you must obtain a separate
Hemp Farming Permit.

+ Permitting Fees:

» Hemp Processor Permit Fee:
$100.00 Non-Refundable Application Fee per location
$3,000.00 Permit Fee per location

» Each separate address, even if under the same business
name, will need its own Processing Permit, Dealer/
Handler License, and Weighmaster License.

» Hemp Processor Permits will be issued once processing
facilities have passed inspection.

+ Failure to comply with state regulation may result in
appropriate action, including suspension from the
program and the destruction of hemp materials.
Processors may only purchase hemp from South Carolina
permit holders or individuals licensed or permitted by
another state or Indian tribe.

South Carolina Hemp Processor Permit Application

Federal law now requires that all states have a testing
protocol to measure delta-9 THC post-decarboxylation -
this means total THC must be not more than 0.3 percent.

Federal law will no longer allow SC to have a remediation
safeguard. Now hemp total THC must test at or below
0.3 percent (after accounting for the measurement of
uncertainty, which is likely less than a 0.099% variance)
or be subject to destruction.

In accordance with federal law, cultivating or processing
hemp with a total THC level greater than 0.5% will
constitute a “negligent violation” of the Hemp Farming
Program. If a Permitted Processor has three negligent
violations in 5 years, he or she will face permit suspension
for five years.

Key Information:
» Background checks are required for all applicants.

» Applicant must be an individual. SCDA does not issue
processing permits to business entities.

» This Hemp Processor Permit Application Packet
is designed to provide sufficient instructions for
completion by any individual who would be prepared
to participate in the Hemp Farming Program. The
application packets include a broad understanding of the
program, but applicants should read the South Carolina
Hemp Farming Act S.C. Code Ann. § 46-55-10 et seq.
(which may be accessed here: scstatehouse.gov/code/

t46c055.php), the USDA Interim Final Rule (which sets
forth the national hemp regulatory scheme, and which
may be accessed here: ams.usda.gov/sites/default/files/
media/AMS_SC_19_0042_IR.pdf)

»

v

Please make sure to fully review all application materials
and regulations prior to contacting hemp staff with
questions. SCDA is not in a position to offer direct
consultation on completing a permit application or to
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educate individuals about the production or processing
of hemp.

» All costs associated with the production or processing
of hemp are the responsibility of the permit holder,
including both profits and loss. There are no sources
of funding from SCDA to cover any aspect of hemp
production or processing. Potential applicants should
understand that at the present time it is possible
that they may suffer a loss on their hemp processing
operation. Limited production knowledge combined
with an uncertain federal regulatory environment,
recent changes to the sampling and testing protocol
as required by the USDA that will make compliance
more difficult, and unstable pricing creates significant
risk for the participant. The focus of this program is
the collection of research data and learning through
experience.

+ Application Deadline: New Processor Permit Applications
will now be accepted year-round. Permits issued will be
subject to the annual renewal requirements which will be
one year from date issued.

South Carolina Hemp Processor Permit Application

+ Please note that permits will not be issued until your

facility has passed an SCDA inspection. Once SCDA
receives and approves your processing application, SCDA
will contact you to schedule your processing facility’s
inspection. Please allow SCDA up to 10 business days to
process your application and schedule facility inspection.

SCDA will only issue permits for processing facilities.
SCDA will not issue permits to applicants who only intend
to operate retail outlets.

Please note that a Processing Permit only gives you

the ability to process and possess hemp. As a reminder,
“hemp” means the plant species Cannabis sativa L. and
any part of that plant, including the seeds thereof and all
derivatives, extracts, cannabinoids, isomers, acids, salts,
and salts of isomers, whether growing or not, with a total
THC concentration of not more than 0.3 percent on a dry
weight basis. This Processing Permit does not give you the
ability to process or possess materials with a total THC
concentration of more than 0.3 percent on a dry weight
basis.
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South Carolina

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
CONSUMER PROTECTION DIVISION | HEMP FARMING PROGRAM

Hugh E. Weathers, Commissioner

HEMP PROCESSOR PERMIT APPLICATION

Application Fee: $100.00 Per Location (Non-Refundable) | Permit Fee: $3,000.00 Per Location

Please note that SCDA may only issue Processor Permits to individuals. The Applicant Information below is information
about the person completing this Application. The Company Information below is information about the processor company.
A Processor Permit will not allow the Permit Holder to cultivate, farm, or take ownership of living clones or any other type
of living plant material. If you wish to cultivate or take ownership or living clones or any other type of living (rooted) plant
material, you must obtain a separate Hemp Farming Permit. Permit renews annually from the date permit is issued.

APPLICANT / BUSINESS INFORMATION

Applicant Name

Processing Facility Name

Applicant’s Home Address

City State ZIP
Required for Background Check

Phone Job Title with Processing Facility

Email

Physical Address of Processing Facility

City State ZIP

County Company Phone
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A brief business plan must be submitted with this application. Include nature of business, type of products, hours of operation,
number of employees, to whom and how product(s) will be sold, and how product is being stored and disposed.
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BACKGROUND CHECK

As part of the application process per state law, you must
complete a federal and state background check.

Please be advised that no person who has been convicted
of a felony relating to a controlled substance under state
or federal law during a ten-year period from the date of his
conviction shall be eligible to obtain a license to cultivate,
handle, or process hemp.

All appointments must be made online.

To conduct your federal and state background check, please
follow the following steps to set up an appointment:

1. Visit [dentogo (the state’s third-party background check
vendor) ONLINE at identogo.com/locations/south-carolina

2. Scroll down and select “Digital Fingerprinting”

3. Under “For New Appointments” select “Schedule a New
Appointment”.

4. On the dropdown list, select “SC920126Z - Dept. of
Agriculture - Industrial Hemp” then select “Go™.

o

Enter your Zip Code or Choose the region you are in.

6. Selection the location and day. Please note we
recommend selecting one of ldentogo’s major locations
for your background check to speed up the process.
Those locations are Columbia, Greenville, Charleston,
Florence, Myrtle Beach, and Rock Hill. These locations
are open Monday-Friday.

7. Select a time slot
8. Enter Applicant Information
9. Select Send Information

Once the background check is conducted, the results will
electronically be sent to SCDA from the FBI and SLED, and we
will review them. You do not need to submit the results to SCDA.

NONCRIMINAL JUSTICE APPLICANT’S PRIVACY RIGHTS

As an applicant who is the subject of a national fingerprint-
based criminal history record check for a noncriminal justice
purpose (such as an application for a job or license, an
immigration or naturalization matter, security clearance, or
adoption), you have certain rights which are discussed below.

« You must be provided written notification' that your
fingerprints will be used to check the criminal history
records of the FBI.

« If you have a criminal history record, the officials making a
determination of your suitability for the job, license, or other
benefit must provide you the opportunity to complete or
challenge the accuracy of the information in the record.

+ The officials must advise you that the procedures for
obtaining a change, correction, or updating of your
criminal history record are set forth at Title 28, Code of
Federal Regulations (CFR), Section 16.34.

« If you have a criminal history record, you should be
afforded a reasonable amount of time to correct or
complete the record (or decline to do so) before the
officials deny you the job, license, or other benefit based
on information in the criminal history record.?

You have the right to expect that officials receiving the
results of the criminal history record check will use it only
for authorized purposes and will not retain or disseminate it
in violation of federal statute, regulation or executive order,
or rule, procedure or standard established by the National
Crime Prevention and Privacy Compact Council.®

If agency policy permits, the officials may provide you with
a copy of your FBI criminal history record for review and
possible challenge. If agency policy does not permit it to
provide you a copy of the record, you may obtain a copy of
the record by submitting fingerprints and a fee to the FBI.
Information regarding this process may be obtained at
fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/background-checks.

If you decide to challenge the accuracy or completeness

of your FBI criminal history record, you should send your
challenge to the agency that contributed the questioned
information to the FBI. Alternatively, you may send your
challenge directly to the FBI. The FBI will then forward your
challenge to the agency that contributed the questioned
information and request the agency to verify or correct the
challenged entry. Upon receipt of an official communication
from that agency, the FBI will make any necessary changes/
corrections to your record in accordance with the information
supplied by that agency. (See 28 CFR 16.30 through 16.34.)

! Written notification includes electronic notification, but excludes oral notification.

2See 28 CFR 50.12(b).

¥See 5 U.S.C. 552a(b); 28 U.S.C. 534(b); 42 U.S.C. 14616, Article IV(c); 28 CFR 20.21(c), 20.33(d) and 906.2(d).
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ADDITIONAL LICENSING REQUIREMENTS

Dealer/Handler License Number
Download the application at agriculture.sc.gov/wp-content/uploads/2020/03/DealerHandlerApplication2020.pdf

Weighmaster License Number
Apply online at kellysolutions.com/sc/weighmaster/newapplication/applynow.asp

Attach a copy of Certificate of Occupancy

Classification of building type: (F1 or H3)

Are you processing hemp products for food or as a food grade additive? O Yes O No

If so, you will need additional licensing and inspections for a food grade facility. You must apply for a Registration Verification Certificate

issued by the SCDA’s Food/Feed Safety Department. Please contact Food Safety at (803) 737-0147 or rvcregistration(@scda.sc.gov.

By signing this Application, the Applicant certifies that the information contained is truthful and accurate. The Applicant
also acknowledges receipt of the Guidelines for Hemp Processors document and agrees to abide by all requirements
contained in that document.

Signature Date

Print Name

Complete all parts of the Application and submit South Carolina Department of Agriculture
this Application by mail or hand delivery to: Hemp Program

123 Ballard Court
West Columbia, SC 29172
Attention: Hemp Program Coordinator

FOR SCDA INTERNAL USE ONLY

Date Application Received Application Payment Received
Date Inspection Was Performed Permit Payment Received
Notes
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