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OVERTIME / COMPENSATORY POLICY

South Carolina
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
HUMAN RESOURCES DEPARTMENT
1200 Senate Street, Wade Hampton Bldg 5th Floor, Columbia, SC 29201

Hugh E. Weathers, Commissioner

THE LANGUAGE USED IN THIS DOCUMENT DOES NOT CREATE AN EMPLOYMENT CONTRACT BETWEEN THE EMPLOYEE AND THE 
AGENCY. THIS DOCUMENT DOES NOT CREATE ANY CONTRACTUAL RIGHTS OR ENTITLEMENTS. THE AGENCY RESERVES THE RIGHT TO 
REVISE THE CONTENTS OF THIS DOCUMENT, IN WHOLE OR IN PART. NO PROMISES OR ASSURANCES, WHETHER WRITTEN OR ORAL, 
WHICH ARE CONTRARY TO OR INCONSISTENT WITH THE TERMS OF THIS PARAGRAPH CREATE ANY CONTRACT OF EMPLOYMENT.

The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) establishes minimum 
wage rates, maximum work hours, overtime pay require-
ments, equal pay standards, and child labor restrictions for 
employees subject to its provisions.

I.	 POLICY

All provisions in this policy are governed by principles estab-
lished in the FLSA. By interpretation of the United States 
Department of Labor, the State is considered to be one 
employer for the purposes of applying FLSA.

II.	 NON-EXEMPT & EXEMPT STATUS UNDER 
THE FAIR LABOR STANDARDS ACT

Employees are considered “exempt” if their job duties and 
their salary meet certain thresholds within the FLSA. These 
exempt employees are not subject to the FLSA minimum 
wage, overtime, or record-keeping requirements. As such, 
exempt employees are expected to work as many hours as 
required to perform the duties of the position. The exempt 
status of an employee in a bona fide executive, administra-
tive, professional, or computer employee position shall be 
determined by the South Carolina Department of Agriculture 
(SCDA) Human Resources with input from the appropriate 
division management.

Non-exempt employees are covered by, or subject to, the 
minimum wage, overtime, and record-keeping requirements 
of FLSA. All employees who are not considered exempt from 
the FLSA will be considered non-exempt.

III.	OVERTIME/COMPENSATORY TIME

Overtime is all hours worked in excess of 40 in a seven (7) 
consecutive day work period, which SCDA defines as Sunday 
through Saturday. A non-exempt employee shall be paid no 
less than one and one-half (1 1/2) times his/her regular rate of 
pay for all hours worked over 40 in a workweek or granted 
compensatory time at a rate of one and one-half (1 1/2) hours 
for each hour of overtime worked. Non-exempt employ-
ees, who have a scheduled workweek of 37.5 hours, shall not 
receive additional compensation or compensatory time for 
hours worked between 37.5 and 40.0 hours per workweek.

The requirements that overtime pay must be paid or compen-
satory time granted to non-exempt employees after 40 
hours of work in a workweek shall not be waived by agree-
ment between the supervisor and the employee.

Non-exempt employees may accumulate up to 240 hours of 
compensatory time. Should a non-exempt employee with an 
accumulation of 240 hours of compensatory time, work addi-
tional overtime, the overtime must be paid in the employee’s 
next regular paycheck.

IV.	OVERTIME USAGE

The use of overtime should be an exception to the regu-
lar work schedule in any unit. An employee should only be 
required to work overtime on an occasional basis to meet a 
sudden increase in the workload, to overcome productive 
time lost due to some mechanical failure, or to meet the 
demands of a crisis situation.
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When any unit and/or individual is found to be consistently 
charging overtime, the functions of that unit and/or individ-
ual should be reviewed by appropriate management. Every 
attempt should be made to avoid the repetitive and chronic 
use of overtime.

It shall be the responsibility of each manager to determine 
that the provisions of this policy are administered in the best 
interest of SCDA. Each manager or designee is responsible 
for the prior approval of hours worked that will result in over-
time. However, unauthorized overtime must be compensated. 
Unauthorized overtime may result in disciplinary actions for 
managers and/or employees.

V.	 HOURS WORKED

Hours worked include all time that the employee is required to 
be on duty or at the prescribed workplace and all time during 
which the employee is permitted to work. The hours worked 
include any bona fide work which the employee performs 
on or away from the premises if the supervisor knows or has 
reason to believe that the work is being performed. Time 
spent in leave status is not considered hours worked.

Under warranted circumstances, a non-exempt employee 
may be allowed to work in excess of the normal workday and 
may be given time off during the same workweek at the rate 
of an hour for an hour to avoid working over 40 hours in a 
workweek. This adjustment is not allowed for hours worked 
between 37.5 and 40.0 hours during any workweek. This type 
of work rescheduling precludes working over 40.0 hours in 
a workweek and eliminates the need for overtime payment.

VI.	 GENERAL PROVISIONS ON HOURS WORKED

On-call time is not regarded as work time unless an employee 
is required to remain at the employer’s premises or prescribed 
workplace or is so restricted that the employee cannot 
use the time effectively for his or her own purposes. If the 
employee is not confined to his or her home or any particular 
place but is only required to leave word where he or she can 
be reached, then the hours are not considered working hours.

A bona fide meal period of thirty (30) minutes or more which 
occurs during the scheduled workday is not hours worked if 
the employee is completely relieved from duty for the purpose 
of eating a meal. For SCDA, the meal period (lunch period) is 
one (1) hour each workday. Division Assistant Commissioners 
have the authority to allow organizational units within their 
purview to scale back to thirty (30) minutes when it makes 
business sense to do so or it is beneficial to employees, such 
as with field employees.

Breaks of short duration must be counted as hours worked. 
One morning and one afternoon break of no more than 
fifteen (15) minutes each is permitted. Breaks shall not be 
used to allow an employee to come in late, to leave early, or 
to extend the lunch period.

Travel time for non-exempt employees may be hours worked 
under some conditions. Ordinary home-to-work travel or 
work-to-home travel is not working time. All time spent 
traveling on one-day assignments is considered time worked 
regardless of the time of day or day of the week.

Travel away from home involving an overnight stay for non-ex-
empt employees is considered time worked when it occurs 
during the employee’s normal working hours. This provision 
is applicable not only on regular working days, but also during 
the corresponding hours of non-working days.

When a non-exempt employee by reason of official respon-
sibilities is required to attend lectures, meetings, training 
programs, etc., such time shall be considered work time.

Time off for holidays, paid leave, and compensatory time are 
not counted as hours worked when calculating overtime.

VII.	 SCDA’S WORKWEEK

The normal workweek for SCDA shall be 37.5 hours. However, 
no employee shall receive additional compensation or 
compensatory time for hours worked between 37.5 and 40.0 
hours per workweek. For record-keeping purposes, the work-
week begins at 12:00 am on Sunday and ends at 11:59 pm on 
Saturday. Any employee may be required to work up to forty 
(40) hours per workweek without additional compensation.

VIII.	 COMPENSATION

The regular rate of pay for purposes of calculating over-
time due includes all remuneration for employment paid 
to an employee to include base pay, and all compensation 
not included in base pay as outlined in the Division of State 
Human Resources Regulations, with the exception of discre-
tionary bonuses. Compensation of all employees is based on 
forty (40) hours per week or 2080 hours per year. Non-ex-
empt employees must not be paid less than minimum wage.

IX.	IMPACT OF STATUS CHANGE

If a non-exempt employee accepts a position that is consid-
ered exempt either within the employee’s own agency or with 
a separate state agency, compensatory time must be paid 
prior to the employee starting in the exempt position.
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If a non-exempt employee separates from employment or 
moves to another state agency, any accrued compensatory 
time must be paid out prior to the separation or movement. 
Compensatory time must be paid at a rate of compensation 
not less than either the average regular rate received by the 
employee during the last three years of employment, or the 
final regular rate received by the employee, whichever is 
higher.

X.	 HOLIDAYS

An employee who is required to work on a legal holiday shall 
be given holiday compensatory time in accordance with 
Section 19-708.04 of the Division of State Human Resources 
Regulations. Time worked on a legal holiday shall be used in 
computing the total hours worked. All non-exempt employ-
ees who do not take the holiday compensatory time earned 
for working on a holiday within a 90-day period shall be 
compensated for the holiday by the employing agency at the 
straight hourly pay rate of the employee. An agency head or 
designee may extend the 90-day period for an additional 90 
days because of limited staffing. All non-exempt employees 
will be paid for unused holiday compensatory time upon sepa-
ration of employment from State government, movement to 
a position in another State agency (whether the new position 
is exempt or non-exempt), or upon an employee starting in 
an exempt position in the current agency. Exempt employees 
shall not be paid for unused holiday compensatory time under 
any circumstances.

XI.	EXEMPT EMPLOYEES AND 
COMPENSATORY TIME

Exempt employees may receive compensatory time off for 
hours worked, for time spent traveling, or for attendance at 
lectures, meetings, training programs, etc., in excess of the 
normal workweek (40 hours per week). Under no circum-
stances shall an exempt employee accumulate more compen-
satory time than the FLSA allows for a non-exempt employee 
(See Overtime/Compensatory Time section of policy above). 
If granted, the compensatory time must not be at a rate 
greater than one (1) hour of compensatory time for each hour 
worked in excess of 40.0 in the official workweek and may 
be at a lesser rate. Exempt employees must not be paid for 
overtime.

XII.	 TEMPORARY EMPLOYEES

The hourly rate is the “regular rate” for temporary employ-
ees. This rate is calculated by dividing the annual salary by 
2080 hours. Temporary employees shall be compensated for 
all hours worked. All temporary employees must be desig-
nated as non-exempt.


