Derek M. Underwood, Assistant Commissioner

123 Ballard Court
West Columbia, SC 29172


Consumer Protection Division: SCDA restructured and reorganized the regulatory departments into a highly-trained, equipped, and efficient division. The Consumer Protection Division (CPD) is comprised of seven (7) main departments: Produce Safety Department, Laboratory Services Department, Consumer Services Department, Metrology Services Department, Feed/Food Safety & Compliance Department, Grading and Inspection Department, and the new Hemp Program.

There is a unified effort by these seven groups to fulfill and comply with their legislated and service driven charge, and each unit is dependent on the other to complete tasks as required by state/federal law and regulation.